Stresses on the G7 NYT 6-06-18

Source NYT 6/06/18: "Despite Trump, the West Must Stay United"  

The G7 or Group of Seven includes the US, the UK, Canada, France, Germany, Italy and Japan. Together, these 7 nations account for about 60% of the world’s net wealth and about half the world’s GDP. In 2014, the G8 included Russia but Russia was suspended from membership after their annexation of Crimea. President Trump has disrupted the G7 by calling for Russia’s reinstatement; by withdrawing from the Iran nuclear deal; by threatening tariffs on steel and aluminum and by withdrawing from the Paris climate accords.

G7 leaders are concerned that Trump’s actions are not just the incidental and personal prerogatives of a President but indicative of a new strategic trend in which we see the first signs of a breakup of the Western political community, which the G-7 represents and informally leads.